Cascadeur vs Unity AI

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Rigging, animation & mocap, Cascadeur ranks #2 and Unity AI ranks #5. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use on paid plans; Unreal integration; API.

Full ranking: Rigging, animation & mocap · How we rank

#5 in Rigging, animation & mocap

Unity AI

Coding assistants · Included with engine plan
Commercial use
Not stated by vendor
Free plan
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Ship free-plan output?
Not stated by vendor
Engines
Unity

Visit Unity AI ↗Full listing

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
CascadeurCommercial on paid plans only
Unity AICommercial use: not stated by vendor
Best for
Hand-keyed character animation with AI posing help
Unity users who want AI inside the editor
What it does
Physics-based keyframe animation software with AI-assisted autoposing, inbetweening and mocap cleanup; exports FBX, DAE, USD and glTF on paid plans.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For hand-keyed character animation with AI posing help; free is non-commercial, and Indie only covers studios under $100k a year in revenue/funding.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Rigging, animation & mocap
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Unreal, Blender
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan Free, non-commercial, .casc export only
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Free (non-commercial, .casc export only). Indie US$19/month or US$8/month billed annually. Pro US$49/month or US$33/month billed annually. Teams US$49/user/month. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
FBX, DAE, USD, glTF on paid plans source
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use●
Commercial on paid plans only
Free and Educational: no commercial use. Indie: commercial use only if revenue/funding is under $100,000/year. Pro and Teams: full commercial use. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps●
Indie plan: commercial use only if revenue/funding is under $100,000 a year.
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. In-app Python scripting API (not a cloud API) source
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor. A built-in MCP server in Cascadeur 2026.2 was reported by CG Channel; not confirmed on cascadeur.com source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship. Some links earn us a commission. It never changes our listings.