Claude Code vs GitHub Copilot

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Coding assistants, GitHub Copilot ranks #2 and Claude Code ranks #4. Named a Leader in Gartner's 2026 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise AI Coding Agents (May 2026). Joint top with Cursor; we list the two alphabetically. Gartner MQ coverage (Virtualization Review)

Full ranking: Coding assistants · How we rank

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
Claude CodeCommercial use allowed
GitHub CopilotCommercial use allowed
Best for
An AI coding agent in your terminal or IDE
Gameplay code in any engine, free starter plan
What it does
Anthropic's coding agent: reads your codebase, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE extensions (VS Code, JetBrains), a desktop app or the browser; usable for gameplay code in any language or engine.
AI coding assistant with code completions, chat and agent mode; usable for gameplay code in any engine's scripting language.
Verdict
For devs who want an agent that edits and runs game code from the terminal or IDE; it needs a paid Claude plan or an API account, and Anthropic's terms assign output rights to you.
For coding in any engine with a free starting tier; GitHub says it doesn't own suggestions, and IP indemnity only comes with organization plans.
Tasks
Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan●
Paid only Claude's Free plan doesn't include Claude Code
Free plan Free plan
Pricing
Included in Claude Pro (US$20/month, or US$17/month billed annually at US$200 up front), Max (from US$100/month), Team (standard seat US$25/month, or US$20/month billed annually) and Enterprise; or billed by API token use through an Anthropic Console account. source
Free plan. Paid individual plans listed at US$10, US$39 and US$100 per month; Business and Enterprise plans for organizations. source
Export formats
n/a (code in your repo)
n/a (code in your repo)
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Consumer Terms (individual accounts, effective 8 October 2025): "we assign to you all of our right, title, and interest—if any—in Outputs." Commercial Terms (organisations and API customers, effective 17 June 2025): the customer owns its Outputs, Anthropic assigns its rights (if any), may not train models on customer content, and defends customers against covered third-party claims (section K). source
Commercial use allowed
Copilot Product Specific Terms: "GitHub does not own Suggestions. You retain ownership of Your Code." IP indemnity applies to organization plans, not individual plans. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. Can run on the Claude API with an Anthropic Console account, billed by token use source
Not applicable. IDE/CLI product
MCP server
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers source
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers (IDEs, CLI, GitHub.com) source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.