In Coding assistants, Claude Code ranks #4 and Unity AI ranks #6. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API.
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: Claude Code: commercial use allowed terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: Claude Code: paid only (Claude's Free plan doesn't include Claude Code) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: Claude Code: public API, connects to MCP servers. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Claude Code: none stated (standard file export). Unity AI: Unity.
Anthropic's coding agent: reads your codebase, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE extensions (VS Code, JetBrains), a desktop app or the browser; usable for gameplay code in any language or engine.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For devs who want an agent that edits and runs game code from the terminal or IDE; it needs a paid Claude plan or an API account, and Anthropic's terms assign output rights to you.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Coding assistants
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan●
Paid only Claude's Free plan doesn't include Claude Code
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Included in Claude Pro (US$20/month, or US$17/month billed annually at US$200 up front), Max (from US$100/month), Team (standard seat US$25/month, or US$20/month billed annually) and Enterprise; or billed by API token use through an Anthropic Console account. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
n/a (code in your repo)
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed Consumer Terms (individual accounts, effective 8 October 2025): "we assign to you all of our right, title, and interest—if any—in Outputs." Commercial Terms (organisations and API customers, effective 17 June 2025): the customer owns its Outputs, Anthropic assigns its rights (if any), may not train models on customer content, and defends customers against covered third-party claims (section K). source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. Can run on the Claude API with an Anthropic Console account, billed by token use source
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server●
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.