In Rigging, animation & mocap, DeepMotion Animate 3D ranks #3 and Unity AI ranks #5. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use on paid plans; no engine integration stated; API.
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: DeepMotion Animate 3D: commercial on paid plans only terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: DeepMotion Animate 3D: free plan (Freemium; personal, non-commercial) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: DeepMotion Animate 3D: public API, no MCP server found. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: DeepMotion Animate 3D: Blender, Roblox. Unity AI: Unity.
Markerless AI motion capture: turns ordinary video into 3D character animation; sister product SayMotion does text-to-motion.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For turning reference video into 3D animation cheaply; the free Freemium tier is non-commercial only.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Rigging, animation & mocap
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Blender, Roblox
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan Freemium; personal, non-commercial
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Freemium (free, no card). Starter US$9, Innovator US$17, Professional US$39, Studio US$83 per month, paid annually. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Commercial on paid plans only Freemium accounts are for personal, non-commercial use; a premium subscription plan is required for licensed (commercial) animation. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.