In Music & SFX, ElevenLabs ranks #2 and Unity AI ranks #10. Eleven Music v2.5 is #7 of 13 on Artificial Analysis's vocal music leaderboard and mid-table on the instrumental one. It ranks above Stable Audio only because Stable Audio isn't on the vocal board; on instrumentals the two are effectively tied. AA vocal music leaderboardAA instrumental leaderboard
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: ElevenLabs: commercial on paid plans only terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: ElevenLabs: free plan (10,000 credits; non-commercial only) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: ElevenLabs: public API, official MCP server. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: ElevenLabs: none stated (standard file export). Unity AI: Unity.
Text-to-speech, voices, sound effects and music generation; usable for NPC voice lines and SFX.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For NPC voice lines and SFX; free-plan output is non-commercial, so a paid plan is required to ship.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Voice & dialogue, Music & SFX
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan 10,000 credits; non-commercial only
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Free US$0 (10,000 credits). Starter US$6, Creator US$22 (US$11 first month), Pro US$99, Scale US$299, Business US$990 per month. Enterprise custom. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
MP3 (default), PCM and other API output formats source
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use●
Commercial on paid plans only Terms: free-plan users may only use the Services for non-commercial purposes; paid-subscription users may use them commercially (subject to the Prohibited Use Policy). source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.