In Coding assistants, GitHub Copilot ranks #2 and Unity AI ranks #6. Named a Leader in Gartner's 2026 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise AI Coding Agents (May 2026). Joint top with Cursor; we list the two alphabetically. Gartner MQ coverage (Virtualization Review)
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: GitHub Copilot: commercial use allowed terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: GitHub Copilot: free plan (Free plan) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: GitHub Copilot: API not applicable, connects to MCP servers. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: GitHub Copilot: none stated (standard file export). Unity AI: Unity.
AI coding assistant with code completions, chat and agent mode; usable for gameplay code in any engine's scripting language.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For coding in any engine with a free starting tier; GitHub says it doesn't own suggestions, and IP indemnity only comes with organization plans.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Coding assistants
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Free plan. Paid individual plans listed at US$10, US$39 and US$100 per month; Business and Enterprise plans for organizations. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
n/a (code in your repo)
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed Copilot Product Specific Terms: "GitHub does not own Suggestions. You retain ownership of Your Code." IP indemnity applies to organization plans, not individual plans. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Not applicable. IDE/CLI product
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server●
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers (IDEs, CLI, GitHub.com) source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.