Krea vs Sloyd

Concept art & 2D assets · checked · Compare different tools

Krea ranks higher in Concept art & 2D assets (#9 vs #11). How we score

How they differ

How each one works, from its own docs.

KreaMulti-model creative suite with its own image model and a live canvas

Draw-and-see Realtime generation and training a model on your own art style in one app, with many image models side by side. Midjourney is for mood and style exploration; ChatGPT is for precise edits to existing images.

Best for: Pre-production concept art: characters, environments and prop variations in a consistent game style.

SloydParametric templates plus generative 3D

Its parametric template editor sets it apart: hand-built procedural models reshaped by sliders, not AI, giving clean UV'd parts and LODs. It also makes skyboxes, sprite sheets, video, and sound effects and placeholder voice-over (Sloyd Audio).

Best for: Bulk props and modular environment pieces where consistent topology and fast variants matter more than one-off detail.

Workflow

Krea

Sloyd

Where you use it

Web app (also an iOS app), plugins for Photoshop, Illustrator and Blender, an API and an MCP server

Web app; REST API; bridge plugins for Unity, Unreal, Godot, Maya, Blender and Roblox

You give it

A text prompt, reference images, a rough drawing in Realtime, or your own images to train a style

Text prompt (optional style image), one image or up to four views, or a parametric template; your own model to split, retexture or rig

You get

Images, upscales; also video and textured 3D models (GLB, OBJ, FBX) from third-party models

GLB, FBX, OBJ, USD, STL (animated also BLEND); UV-mapped textured mesh, quads or triangles up to 500K faces, textures up to 4K

How you steer it

Choice of model (Krea 3 and others), trained LoRA styles, moodboards and node workflows

Style presets (low-poly, stylized, realistic); template sliders and toggles for shape, parts and LOD; API sets face count, topology, texture size

How you refine results

Realtime renders update as you draw; edit images with words; chain steps in Nodes

Regenerate, tweak template sliders, retexture keeping geometry, split into parts, auto-rig T/A-pose humanoids, add preset, text or video-driven motion

Pick Krea if you want

  • Fast concept iteration in your own art style

Pick Sloyd if you want

  • Template-based game-ready props

How they score

Each signal is out of 100. Higher wins.

KreaSloyd
Benchmarks
No data
No data
Expert reviews
No data
No data
User reports
No data
No data
Game-dev fit
72
52
See all 0 sources

Krea

No independent sources yet.

Sloyd

No independent sources yet.

Vendor claims (not scored): Krea: 'For game developers': generate character designs, enhance environment art, upscale textures and create marketing materials; train a private model on your own art style. source · Krea: Krea 3 is Krea's in-house image editing model; Krea cites Krea 3 Ultra at #4 on Arena's Multi-Image Edit leaderboard (vendor claim, not checked). source

At a glance

KreaSloyd
Paid plans fromUS$9/moUS$15/mo
Free planFree planFree plan
Engine pluginsFile export onlyGodotUnityUnreal
API / MCPAPI + Official MCPAPI
Commercial usePaid plans onlyPaid plans only
Full comparison: every fact, with sources
Tool
KreaCommercial on paid plans only
SloydCommercial on paid plans only
Best for
Fast concept iteration in your own art style
Template-based game-ready props
What it does
AI creative suite for images, video and 3D in one web app. Its own Krea 3 image model, Realtime (renders as you type or draw) and LoRA training on your own art style suit game concept art; it also runs third-party image, video and 3D models such as Nano Banana, Seedance, Kling, Veo and Hunyuan3D.
AI 3D generator (text, image or editable templates) for game-ready props, with AI rigging and animation, retexturing, skyboxes, image generation, pixel-art sprite sheets, video, and sound effects and placeholder voice-over in the same web app; plugins for Roblox, Unity, Unreal, Godot, Maya and Blender are free to download, and Sloyd's pricing lists plugin access on Plus and Pro.
Verdict
For artists who want fast concept iteration: Krea's own image model, live drawing-to-image and a style model trained on your own art, with other image models in the same app. Commercial use needs a paid plan, and the terms word it more loosely than the pricing page.
For game-ready props from editable templates with Unity/Unreal plugins, plus rigging, retexturing and image tools on the same plan; the free plan is personal-use only.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets
3D model generation, Rigging, animation & mocap, Textures & materials, Concept art & 2D assets
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
GodotUnityUnrealBlenderRoblox
Free plan
Free plan 100 units a day, no credit card
Free plan Free Guest plan: 1 text-to-3D and 1 image-to-3D generation a day, exports of community models only, personal use only
Pricing
Free US$0 (100 units a day, no card). Basic US$9/month (5,000 units), Pro US$35/month (20,000 units), Max US$105/month (60,000 units), Business US$200/month (80,000 units, up to 50 members); yearly works out at US$5, US$21, US$63 and US$160 a month. source
Free Guest plan. Plus US$15/month (US$12.50/month billed yearly). Pro US$50/month (US$41.67/month billed yearly). source
Export formats●
Images; 3D models as GLB, OBJ, FBX, PLY, STL source
GLB, OBJ and FBX (pricing FAQ); free Guest plan exports community models only source
Commercial use
Commercial on paid plans only
Krea's pricing FAQ says Basic, Pro, Max, Business and Enterprise plans include a commercial licence to use generated content for commercial purposes 'without restrictions'. Its Terms of Use (last updated 20 May 2024) are softer: Krea 'may allow you to commercialize certain Content' subject to your tier, and 'reserves the right to modify the terms of commercial use' at any time. Free-plan commercial use isn't stated clearly. source
Commercial on paid plans only
Free plan: personal-use license. Plus and Pro include a commercial license (you own what you generate; Pro adds reselling). source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. REST API and JS SDK for 40+ image and video models, upscaling and LoRA training source
Available. REST API (client id/secret) source
MCP server●
Official MCP server. Hosted MCP server (OAuth, or an API token) source
None found. No MCP server found in Sloyd docs
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.

Get tool changes by email

A short weekly email from Gamedev AI Tools: new AI tools for game devs, new guides and comparisons, ranking changes and price or licence changes. You also get our free cheat sheet of the top 3 tools for every job. Every email has an unsubscribe link.