In Concept art & 2D assets, Layer ranks #4 and Sloyd ranks #8. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API and official MCP server. Mostly runs other companies' image models, so their leaderboard results don't count for it.
Commercial use: Layer: commercial use allowed terms. Sloyd: commercial on paid plans only terms.
Free plan: Layer: free plan (Start for free (scope unverified)) pricing. Sloyd: free plan (Free Guest plan: 1 text-to-3D and 1 image-to-3D generation a day, exports of community models only, personal use only) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only Layer allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: Layer: public API, official MCP server. Sloyd: public API, no MCP server found.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Layer: none stated (standard file export). Sloyd: Godot, Unity, Unreal, Blender, Roblox.
Generative content platform aimed at game studios: style-trained models, concept art, marketing creatives and asset variations with team workflows.
AI 3D generator (text, image or editable templates) for game-ready props, with AI rigging and animation, retexturing, skyboxes, image generation and pixel-art sprite sheets in the same web app; plugins for Unity, Unreal and Blender on paid plans.
Verdict
For studios that want style-trained generation with no per-seat fees; the pricing page lists a commercial licence for all users.
For game-ready props from editable templates with Unity/Unreal plugins, plus rigging, retexturing and image tools on the same plan; the free plan is personal-use only.
3D model generation, Rigging, animation & mocap, Textures & materials, Concept art & 2D assets
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Godot, Unity, Unreal, Blender, Roblox
Free plan
Free plan Start for free (scope unverified)
Free plan Free Guest plan: 1 text-to-3D and 1 image-to-3D generation a day, exports of community models only, personal use only
Pricing
Start for free. Subscriptions begin at US$10/month for 300 Creative Units, increasing by US$60 per 1,000 CUs; US$0 per seat. source
Free Guest plan. Plus US$15/month (US$12.50/month billed yearly). Pro US$50/month (US$41.67/month billed yearly). source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
GLB, OBJ and FBX (pricing FAQ); free Guest plan exports community models only source
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed Pricing page lists "Commercial license for all users". Free-tier scope: unverified. source
Commercial on paid plans only Free plan: personal-use license. Plus and Pro include a commercial license (you own what you generate; Pro adds reselling). source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.