In Concept art & 2D assets, Leonardo.Ai ranks #5 and Unity AI ranks #10. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API and official MCP server. Leonardo's own models are on Artificial Analysis's text-to-image leaderboard, but near the bottom (best: Lucid Origin Ultra, #86 of 102), so it doesn't move it up.
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: Leonardo.Ai: commercial use allowed terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: Leonardo.Ai: free plan (150 fast tokens/day; creations are public) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: Leonardo.Ai: public API, official MCP server. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Leonardo.Ai: none stated (standard file export). Unity AI: Unity.
General image and video generation platform with trainable custom models; usable for concept art, item icons and texture ideas.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For general concept art and icon ideas; free-tier output can be used commercially but is public and Leonardo holds rights to it, while paid plans give you ownership.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan 150 fast tokens/day; creations are public
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Free: 150 fast tokens/day (public creations). Essential US$12/month, Premium US$30/month, Ultimate US$60/month (ex. tax). Team and API plans available. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed Paid subscribers retain full ownership and IP rights. Free tier: Leonardo holds rights to the images but grants you a non-exclusive, royalty-free licence for commercial use; free creations are public. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. API plans are separate from web subscriptions source
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server
Official MCP server. Hosted MCP server (needs API plan and key) source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.