In Coding assistants, Unity AI ranks #6 and Ludus AI ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial terms not stated by vendor; Unity integration; official MCP server.
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: Ludus AI: not stated by vendor terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: Ludus AI: free trial or credits only (14-day Pro trial; free account has no credits) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: Ludus AI: API not stated by vendor, MCP not stated by vendor. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Ludus AI: Unreal. Unity AI: Unity.
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and levels
Unity users who want AI inside the editor
What it does
AI toolkit that runs inside the Unreal Engine editor: an agent that understands your project's Blueprints, C++, assets and levels and can answer questions and make edits.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For Unreal devs who want a project-aware assistant in the editor; it has no free credits beyond a 14-day trial, and its output licence is unverified.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Coding assistants, Level & terrain generation
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Unreal
Unity
Free plan
Free trial or credits only 14-day Pro trial; free account has no credits
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
14-day Pro trial. Pro $25/month, Studio $80/month, Ultimate $180/month (plus VAT; yearly billing discounted). Free account has no credits. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
Edits made inside the Unreal project
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Ownership/commercial terms for generated output: unverified. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not stated by vendor. No public API found
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor. Ludus says it can connect to IDEs via MCP; setup details not public source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.