Midjourney vs PixelLab

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Concept art & 2D assets, PixelLab ranks #6 and Midjourney ranks #9. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API and official MCP server.

Full ranking: Concept art & 2D assets · How we rank

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
MidjourneyCommercial on paid plans only
PixelLabCommercial use allowed
Best for
Concept art, key art and 2D illustration
Pixel-art characters, rotations, animations and tilesets
What it does
AI image (and video) generation on the web and Discord; used for concept art, key art and 2D game images. Four subscription plans, no free plan stated.
AI generator for pixel art game assets: characters, 4/8-direction rotations, text- and skeleton-based sprite animations, tilesets, maps and UI elements.
Verdict
For concept and key art on a subscription; you own what you make on any plan, but studios over US$1M a year need Pro or Mega, and images are public unless you pay for Stealth.
For 2D devs who need pixel-art sprites, rotations and animations; outputs are usable commercially on every plan, but its terms bar training other models on them.
Tasks
Concept art & 2D assets
Concept art & 2D assets
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan●
Paid only No free plan stated: "All Midjourney plans are subscriptions"
Free plan Free trial tier, no credit card
Pricing
Basic US$10/month, Standard US$30, Pro US$60, Mega US$120 per month; annual billing US$96, US$288, US$576 or US$1,152 a year (20% off). Extra fast GPU time US$4/hr. source
Free trial tier (no credit card). Paid plans listed at $12/month (2,000 generations), $24/month (5,000) and $50/month (10,000). API and MCP calls use your plan's generations; separate USD API credits are only needed without a subscription or once the plan's generations run out (PixelLab, by email, 17 Oct 2026; the API's balance endpoint reports both). source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use●
Commercial on paid plans only
Terms of Service (effective 27 May 2026): you own the Assets you create; ownership persists if you later downgrade or cancel. A company (or employee of a company) with more than US$1,000,000 a year in revenue must be on Pro or Mega to own its Assets. Upscales of other users' images stay theirs. Content is publicly viewable and remixable by default (Stealth Mode on Pro/Mega only). Assets are provided AS IS, with no non-infringement warranty, and you indemnify Midjourney. source
Commercial use allowed
Pricing page lists "Use generated images commercially" and says the user owns the rights to generations, except using them to train models. Terms also reference the Open RAIL-M license. source
Revenue share / caps●
Company revenue over US$1,000,000/year requires Pro or Mega; no revenue share stated
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not stated by vendor. No public API stated; the Terms say you may not use automated tools to access the Services or generate Assets source
Available. REST API; calls draw on subscription generations, or on USD credits without a plan source
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor
Official MCP server. Remote MCP server for coding assistants (bearer token) source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.