In Concept art & 2D assets, Midjourney ranks #9 and Skybox AI (Blockade Labs) ranks #11. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use on paid plans; no engine integration stated.
Commercial use: Midjourney: commercial on paid plans only terms. Skybox AI (Blockade Labs): not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: Midjourney: paid only (No free plan stated: "All Midjourney plans are subscriptions") pricing. Skybox AI (Blockade Labs): free plan not stated by vendor pricing.
API and MCP: Midjourney: API not stated by vendor, MCP not stated by vendor. Skybox AI (Blockade Labs): public API, MCP server in preview.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Midjourney: none stated (standard file export). Skybox AI (Blockade Labs): Unity.
AI image (and video) generation on the web and Discord; used for concept art, key art and 2D game images. Four subscription plans, no free plan stated.
Generates 360° panoramic skyboxes and environments (up to 16K and HDRI on higher tiers), with an API for in-app generation.
Verdict
For concept and key art on a subscription; you own what you make on any plan, but studios over US$1M a year need Pro or Mega, and images are public unless you pay for Stealth.
For 360° skyboxes and environment backdrops; the terms say you own your assets, but commercial terms below the Business tier are unverified.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets
Textures & materials, Concept art & 2D assets
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan●
Paid only No free plan stated: "All Midjourney plans are subscriptions"
Not stated by vendor
Pricing
Basic US$10/month, Standard US$30, Pro US$60, Mega US$120 per month; annual billing US$96, US$288, US$576 or US$1,152 a year (20% off). Extra fast GPU time US$4/hr. source
Essential US$20/month, Standard US$48/month per seat, Business US$112/month (as listed on the plans page; a second set of prices US$24/US$140 is also shown, likely monthly vs annual billing: unverified). Free tier details: unverified. source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use●
Commercial on paid plans only Terms of Service (effective 27 May 2026): you own the Assets you create; ownership persists if you later downgrade or cancel. A company (or employee of a company) with more than US$1,000,000 a year in revenue must be on Pro or Mega to own its Assets. Upscales of other users' images stay theirs. Content is publicly viewable and remixable by default (Stealth Mode on Pro/Mega only). Assets are provided AS IS, with no non-infringement warranty, and you indemnify Midjourney. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Terms: "You own all Assets You create with the Services, to the extent possible under current law." Plans page lists "Commercial licensing" on the Business tier; commercial terms for lower tiers: unverified. source
Revenue share / caps●
Company revenue over US$1,000,000/year requires Pro or Mega; no revenue share stated
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not stated by vendor. No public API stated; the Terms say you may not use automated tools to access the Services or generate Assets source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.