Midjourney vs Sloyd

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Concept art & 2D assets, Sloyd ranks #8 and Midjourney ranks #10. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use on paid plans; Godot, Unity, Unreal integrations; API.

Full ranking: Concept art & 2D assets · How we rank

#8 in Concept art & 2D assets

Sloyd

3D model generation · Free tier + paid
Commercial use
Commercial on paid plans only
Free plan
Free planFree Guest plan: 1 text-to-3D and 1 image-to-3D generation a day, exports of community models only, personal use only
Ship free-plan output?
No: paid plan needed
Engines
Godot, Unity, Unreal, Blender, Roblox

Visit Sloyd ↗Full listing

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
MidjourneyCommercial on paid plans only
SloydCommercial on paid plans only
Best for
Concept art, key art and 2D illustration
Template-based game-ready props
What it does
AI image (and video) generation on the web and Discord; used for concept art, key art and 2D game images. Four subscription plans, no free plan stated.
AI 3D generator (text, image or editable templates) for game-ready props, with AI rigging and animation, retexturing, skyboxes, image generation and pixel-art sprite sheets in the same web app; plugins for Unity, Unreal and Blender on paid plans.
Verdict
For concept and key art on a subscription; you own what you make on any plan, but studios over US$1M a year need Pro or Mega, and images are public unless you pay for Stealth.
For game-ready props from editable templates with Unity/Unreal plugins, plus rigging, retexturing and image tools on the same plan; the free plan is personal-use only.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets
3D model generation, Rigging, animation & mocap, Textures & materials, Concept art & 2D assets
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Godot, Unity, Unreal, Blender, Roblox
Free plan●
Paid only No free plan stated: "All Midjourney plans are subscriptions"
Free plan Free Guest plan: 1 text-to-3D and 1 image-to-3D generation a day, exports of community models only, personal use only
Pricing
Basic US$10/month, Standard US$30, Pro US$60, Mega US$120 per month; annual billing US$96, US$288, US$576 or US$1,152 a year (20% off). Extra fast GPU time US$4/hr. source
Free Guest plan. Plus US$15/month (US$12.50/month billed yearly). Pro US$50/month (US$41.67/month billed yearly). source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
GLB, OBJ and FBX (pricing FAQ); free Guest plan exports community models only source
Commercial use
Commercial on paid plans only
Terms of Service (effective 27 May 2026): you own the Assets you create; ownership persists if you later downgrade or cancel. A company (or employee of a company) with more than US$1,000,000 a year in revenue must be on Pro or Mega to own its Assets. Upscales of other users' images stay theirs. Content is publicly viewable and remixable by default (Stealth Mode on Pro/Mega only). Assets are provided AS IS, with no non-infringement warranty, and you indemnify Midjourney. source
Commercial on paid plans only
Free plan: personal-use license. Plus and Pro include a commercial license (you own what you generate; Pro adds reselling). source
Revenue share / caps●
Company revenue over US$1,000,000/year requires Pro or Mega; no revenue share stated
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not stated by vendor. No public API stated; the Terms say you may not use automated tools to access the Services or generate Assets source
Available. REST API (client id/secret) source
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor
None found. No MCP server found in Sloyd docs
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.