In Concept art & 2D assets, PixelLab ranks #6 and Sloyd ranks #8. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API and official MCP server.
Commercial use: PixelLab: commercial use allowed terms. Sloyd: commercial on paid plans only terms.
Free plan: PixelLab: free plan (Free trial tier, no credit card) pricing. Sloyd: free plan (Free Guest plan: 1 text-to-3D and 1 image-to-3D generation a day, exports of community models only, personal use only) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only PixelLab allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: PixelLab: public API, official MCP server. Sloyd: public API, no MCP server found.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: PixelLab: none stated (standard file export). Sloyd: Godot, Unity, Unreal, Blender, Roblox.
Pixel-art characters, rotations, animations and tilesets
Template-based game-ready props
What it does
AI generator for pixel art game assets: characters, 4/8-direction rotations, text- and skeleton-based sprite animations, tilesets, maps and UI elements.
AI 3D generator (text, image or editable templates) for game-ready props, with AI rigging and animation, retexturing, skyboxes, image generation and pixel-art sprite sheets in the same web app; plugins for Unity, Unreal and Blender on paid plans.
Verdict
For 2D devs who need pixel-art sprites, rotations and animations; outputs are usable commercially on every plan, but its terms bar training other models on them.
For game-ready props from editable templates with Unity/Unreal plugins, plus rigging, retexturing and image tools on the same plan; the free plan is personal-use only.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets
3D model generation, Rigging, animation & mocap, Textures & materials, Concept art & 2D assets
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Godot, Unity, Unreal, Blender, Roblox
Free plan
Free plan Free trial tier, no credit card
Free plan Free Guest plan: 1 text-to-3D and 1 image-to-3D generation a day, exports of community models only, personal use only
Pricing
Free trial tier (no credit card). Paid plans listed at $12/month (2,000 generations), $24/month (5,000) and $50/month (10,000). API and MCP calls use your plan's generations; separate USD API credits are only needed without a subscription or once the plan's generations run out (PixelLab, by email, 17 Oct 2026; the API's balance endpoint reports both). source
Free Guest plan. Plus US$15/month (US$12.50/month billed yearly). Pro US$50/month (US$41.67/month billed yearly). source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
GLB, OBJ and FBX (pricing FAQ); free Guest plan exports community models only source
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed Pricing page lists "Use generated images commercially" and says the user owns the rights to generations, except using them to train models. Terms also reference the Open RAIL-M license. source
Commercial on paid plans only Free plan: personal-use license. Plus and Pro include a commercial license (you own what you generate; Pro adds reselling). source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. REST API; calls draw on subscription generations, or on USD credits without a plan source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.