In Concept art & 2D assets, Scenario ranks #3 and Unity AI ranks #10. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use on paid plans; Unity, Unreal integrations; API and official MCP server. Mostly runs other companies' image models, so their leaderboard results don't count for it.
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: Scenario: commercial on paid plans only terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: Scenario: free plan (50 daily credits; personal/evaluation use only) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: Scenario: public API, official MCP server. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Scenario: Unity, Unreal, Blender. Unity AI: Unity.
Studios training custom style models on their own art
Unity users who want AI inside the editor
What it does
Production-focused generative platform for game art: train custom style models on your own assets, generate images, textures, 3D meshes, video and audio. API-first with Unity/Unreal integration.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For studios that want custom style models trained on their own art; commercial use needs a paid plan (free output is personal/evaluation only).
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Unity, Unreal, Blender
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan 50 daily credits; personal/evaluation use only
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Free tier with 50 daily credits. Starter US$15/month, Pro US$45/month, Max US$75/month (monthly billing; annual saves 33%). Enterprise custom. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Commercial on paid plans only All paid plans include a full commercial license; free plan outputs are for personal and evaluation use only (per pricing FAQ). source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.