Skybox AI (Blockade Labs) vs Unity AI

Textures & materials · checked · Compare different tools

Skybox AI (Blockade Labs) ranks higher in Textures & materials (#4 vs #11). How we score

How they differ

How each one works, from its own docs.

Skybox AI360° skybox generator

Makes whole 360° environment panoramas and HDRI lighting, not tileable material maps like Scenario, Leonardo, Layer, Ludo or Unity AI. Depth and GLB export add a rough 3D shell.

Best for: Sky domes, distant backdrops, image-based lighting and quick environment mood concepts; not surface textures.

Unity AIIn-editor Unity agent and asset generators

Unity's own scene-aware agent plus asset generators, all inside the Unity Editor. Ludus AI and Ultimate Engine CoPilot are the Unreal counterparts. Claude Code, Cursor and Copilot edit code files but don't drive the Editor.

Best for: Unity teams that want to prototype scenes, write gameplay scripts and make 2D, audio and animation assets without leaving the Editor.

Workflow

Skybox AI

Unity AI

Where you use it

Web app; REST API and SDK; Unity plugin; Blender add-on; MCP server; Godot, Roblox, SketchUp and Figma integrations

Package inside the Unity Editor (Unity 6+). Also a Unity CLI, an MCP server, and a plugin that gives outside coding agents Unity skills.

You give it

Text prompt plus a style; optional negative prompt, a previous skybox or project to remix, or an uploaded equirectangular image

Chat prompts with screenshots, Hierarchy objects and Console errors. Text or reference images for generators. Text or video for animation.

You get

Equirectangular panorama (Model 4 native 4K, Model 3 8K); JPG, PNG, HDR/EXR, MP4; depth map, cube maps and GLB mesh on Model 3 only

C# scripts, Editor changes to scenes and objects, plus generated sprites, textures, PBR materials, terrain layers, simple 3D props, sound clips and animation clips.

How you steer it

Style presets, negative prompt, prompt enhancer, seed, Model 3 or 4 (Standard/Enhanced), horizon shift, soft lines, init-image strength

Ask, Plan and Agent modes. Lite, Default and Ultra model tiers. Permission levels, skills, custom tools, MCP. Per-generator model, resolution and reference settings.

How you refine results

Remix an existing skybox or project, keeping its structure while changing style, time of day or weather; regenerate with new seeds

Chat follow-ups, revise and approve Plan-mode plans, restore checkpoints, and regenerate or upscale assets in the Generator window and Generations panel.

Pick Skybox AI (Blockade Labs) if you want

  • Seam-free 360 wrap in hands-on tests
  • Usable as environment lighting (HDR) as well as backdrop
  • Unity plugin and API for pipelines

Watch out: occasional seams/artifacts in complex scenes and close-up depth; little control over object placement

Pick Unity AI if you want

  • Unity users who want AI inside the editor

How they score

Each signal is out of 100. Higher wins.

Skybox AI (Blockade Labs)Unity AI
Benchmarks
No data
No data
Expert reviews
75
No data
User reports
83
No data
Game-dev fit
56
18
See all 2 sources

Skybox AI (Blockade Labs)

  • One More Vision A professional archviz TD used Skybox AI panoramas as skyboxes and HDR environment lights in 3ds Max and Blender. They found no seam or projection problems and clearly better Japanese streetscapes than an SD 1.5 360-LoRA workflow. They judged Flux comparable but licence-restricted, and Skybox AI the more stable option.
  • X posts (6 read) 5 positive, 0 mixed, 1 negative

Unity AI

No independent sources yet.

Vendor claims (not scored): Skybox AI (Blockade Labs): 8K panoramas with seamless wrap; 16K and HDRI/depth/mesh export on higher tiers; official Unity plugin and REST API source · Skybox AI (Blockade Labs): Says over 1.5 million creators have used Skybox AI source · Unity AI: Material Generator makes tileable PBR materials from text/reference images; positioned for prototyping and placeholder assets; Generators also offer third-party models from Scenario and Layer source

At a glance

Skybox AI (Blockade Labs)Unity AI
Paid plans fromUS$20/moIncluded with engine plan
Free planNot statedFree trial or credits only
Engine pluginsUnityUnity
API / MCPAPIMCP
Commercial useNot statedNot stated
Full comparison: every fact, with sources
Tool
Skybox AI (Blockade Labs)Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Unity AICommercial use: not stated by vendor
Best for
360° skyboxes and HDRI environments
Unity users who want AI inside the editor
What it does
Generates 360° panoramic skyboxes and environments (up to 16K and HDRI on higher tiers), with an API for in-app generation.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For 360° skyboxes and environment backdrops; the terms say you own your assets, but commercial terms below the Business tier are unverified.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Textures & materials, Concept art & 2D assets
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines
Unity
Unity
Free plan●
Not stated by vendor
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Essential US$20/month, Standard US$48/month per seat, Business US$112/month (as listed on the plans page; a second set of prices US$24/US$140 is also shown, likely monthly vs annual billing: unverified). Free tier details: unverified. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
JPG, PNG, HDR, EXR, MP4, GLB (Model 3) source
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use
Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Terms: "You own all Assets You create with the Services, to the extent possible under current law." Plans page lists "Commercial licensing" on the Business tier; commercial terms for lower tiers: unverified. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. REST API (x-api-key) source
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server●
In preview. MCP server listed as in preview on the roadmap source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.