Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) vs Unity AI

Coding assistants · checked · Compare different tools

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) ranks higher in Coding assistants (#2 vs #6). How we score

How they differ

How each one works, from its own docs.

Devin DesktopAI editor with multi-agent command centre

Like Cursor, it replaces your editor. Unlike Cursor, it is built around running and reviewing many local and cloud agents, including third-party ones, from one command centre tied to Cognition's Devin.

Best for: Teams that want an editor plus a dashboard for running parallel agent tasks, with long jobs pushed to the cloud.

Unity AIIn-editor Unity agent and asset generators

Unity's own scene-aware agent plus asset generators, all inside the Unity Editor. Ludus AI and Ultimate Engine CoPilot are the Unreal counterparts. Claude Code, Cursor and Copilot edit code files but don't drive the Editor.

Best for: Unity teams that want to prototype scenes, write gameplay scripts and make 2D, audio and animation assets without leaving the Editor.

Workflow

Devin Desktop

Unity AI

Where you use it

Standalone VS Code-derived desktop IDE (Mac, Windows, Linux). It was Windsurf until it was renamed on 2 June 2026. Links to Devin Cloud and Devin CLI.

Package inside the Unity Editor (Unity 6+). Also a Unity CLI, an MCP server, and a plugin that gives outside coding agents Unity skills.

You give it

Prompts to the local agent (Devin Local), code as you type, or tasks handed off to cloud Devin. Third-party agents connect through ACP.

Chat prompts with screenshots, Hierarchy objects and Console errors. Text or reference images for generators. Text or video for animation.

You get

Multi-file code edits and terminal runs on your machine, Tab autocomplete, and PRs from Devin cloud sessions and their subagents.

C# scripts, Editor changes to scenes and objects, plus generated sprites, textures, PBR materials, terrain layers, simple 3D props, sound clips and animation clips.

How you steer it

Rules in .devin/rules (also reads .windsurfrules, AGENTS.md, imported .cursor/rules), memories, workflows, MCP, and model choice including a lead-plus-sidekick Fusion mode.

Ask, Plan and Agent modes. Lite, Default and Ultra model tiers. Permission levels, skills, custom tools, MCP. Per-generator model, resolution and reference settings.

How you refine results

Review diffs with Devin Review, chat follow-ups, move a session between local and cloud, and track many agents in Spaces or a Kanban view.

Chat follow-ups, revise and approve Plan-mode plans, restore checkpoints, and regenerate or upscale assets in the Generator window and Generations panel.

Pick Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) if you want

  • Strong autonomous agent runs and semantic indexing (StraySpark)
  • Lowest cost of the IDE options (StraySpark)

Watch out: slow first index and heavy RAM on UE projects (StraySpark); large refactors cascade into errors (StraySpark)

Pick Unity AI if you want

  • Native editor integration and engine knowledge
  • Useful for debugging, profiling and project audits (forum users)

Watch out: unreliable on multi-step tasks; stalls and makes unrequested changes; opaque, spiking credit costs

How they score

Each signal is out of 100. Higher wins.

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)Unity AI
Benchmarks
No data
No data
Expert reviews
45
30
User reports
93
No data
Game-dev fit
64
58
See all 3 sources

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)

Unity AI

  • Darko Unity blog: Unity AI Assistant review: not ready for real work Open-beta test: a one-prompt world-generation benchmark stalled at layer 2, another build hung on 'Preparing' for over 4,500 s, and a drivable-car script failed with bad colliders. Verdict: not ready for production work. Notes the assistant used Gemini 2.0 Flash for tool calling.

Vendor claims (not scored): Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf): Devin Desktop is the new name for Windsurf; plans and pricing unchanged; 'Fusion' pairs a lead model with a SWE-2 sidekick. source · Unity AI: Unity AI isn't trained on your code or data by default; open beta for all Unity 6 users from May 2026. source

At a glance

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)Unity AI
Paid plans fromFree tier + paidIncluded with engine plan
Free planFree planFree trial or credits only
Engine pluginsFile export onlyUnity
API / MCPNoneMCP
Commercial useAllowedNot stated
Full comparison: every fact, with sources
Tool
Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)Commercial use allowed
Unity AICommercial use: not stated by vendor
Best for
Agentic coding with unlimited free tab completions
Unity users who want AI inside the editor
What it does
AI code editor with agentic coding and unlimited tab completions on the free plan.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For an AI code editor whose free plan includes unlimited tab completions; its terms assign output rights to you.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Coding assistants
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan Free $0 plan
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
Free $0/month; Pro $20/month; a $200/month tier; Teams $80/month plus $40/month per full seat. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
n/a (code in your repo)
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed
Individual terms 3.1: Cognition assigns to you all right, title and interest in Output. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Not applicable. Editor product
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server●
Connects to MCP servers. Cascade connects to stdio, HTTP and SSE MCP servers source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.