In Coding assistants, Claude Code ranks #4 and ChatGPT ranks #5. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API.
Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (ChatGPT terms; Claude Code terms).
Free plan: ChatGPT: free plan (Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access) pricing. Claude Code: paid only (Claude's Free plan doesn't include Claude Code) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only ChatGPT allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: ChatGPT: public API, MCP not stated by vendor. Claude Code: public API, connects to MCP servers.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: both: none stated (standard file export).
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
Anthropic's coding agent: reads your codebase, edits files and runs commands from the terminal, IDE extensions (VS Code, JetBrains), a desktop app or the browser; usable for gameplay code in any language or engine.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For devs who want an agent that edits and runs game code from the terminal or IDE; it needs a paid Claude plan or an API account, and Anthropic's terms assign output rights to you.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Paid only Claude's Free plan doesn't include Claude Code
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Included in Claude Pro (US$20/month, or US$17/month billed annually at US$200 up front), Max (from US$100/month), Team (standard seat US$25/month, or US$20/month billed annually) and Enterprise; or billed by API token use through an Anthropic Console account. source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
n/a (code in your repo)
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use allowed Consumer Terms (individual accounts, effective 8 October 2025): "we assign to you all of our right, title, and interest—if any—in Outputs." Commercial Terms (organisations and API customers, effective 17 June 2025): the customer owns its Outputs, Anthropic assigns its rights (if any), may not train models on customer content, and defends customers against covered third-party claims (section K). source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Available. Can run on the Claude API with an Anthropic Console account, billed by token use source
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.