ChatGPT

OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.

Visit official site ↗Free tier + paidCommercial use allowed

#7 in Concept art & 2D assetsranked on game-dev fit · how we rank

Can I use ChatGPT in a commercial game?

Yes Yes. ChatGPT's published terms allow commercial use on every plan.

What the terms say: Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. Read the vendor's terms ↗ · Checked

Verdict: For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.

Best for
General-purpose concept images and coding help
Tasks
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Price & free tier
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre.
Source: https://chatgpt.com/pricing
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use & licence
Commercial use allowed
Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output.
Source: https://openai.com/policies/row-terms-of-use/
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
API
Available The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans
Source: https://help.openai.com/en/articles/6950777-what-is-chatgpt-plus
MCP server
Not stated by vendor
Last checked

We summarise what the vendor's own pages say on the date above. "Not stated by vendor" means we couldn't find that detail on the vendor's pages. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship anything.

AI tools you can legally ship in a paid game

Our free cheat sheet covers every tool we list: whether free-plan output can go in a commercial game, which plan you need, and the catch, with sources and check dates. Subscribe and we'll email you the link, plus a weekly newsletter on new tools and licence changes. Unsubscribe any time. (Or just read it here.)