ChatGPT vs Midjourney

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Concept art & 2D assets, ChatGPT ranks #7 and Midjourney ranks #9. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API.

Full ranking: Concept art & 2D assets · How we rank

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
ChatGPTCommercial use allowed
MidjourneyCommercial on paid plans only
Best for
General-purpose concept images and coding help
Concept art, key art and 2D illustration
What it does
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
AI image (and video) generation on the web and Discord; used for concept art, key art and 2D game images. Four subscription plans, no free plan stated.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For concept and key art on a subscription; you own what you make on any plan, but studios over US$1M a year need Pro or Mega, and images are public unless you pay for Stealth.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Concept art & 2D assets
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Paid only No free plan stated: "All Midjourney plans are subscriptions"
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Basic US$10/month, Standard US$30, Pro US$60, Mega US$120 per month; annual billing US$96, US$288, US$576 or US$1,152 a year (20% off). Extra fast GPU time US$4/hr. source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed
Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial on paid plans only
Terms of Service (effective 27 May 2026): you own the Assets you create; ownership persists if you later downgrade or cancel. A company (or employee of a company) with more than US$1,000,000 a year in revenue must be on Pro or Mega to own its Assets. Upscales of other users' images stay theirs. Content is publicly viewable and remixable by default (Stealth Mode on Pro/Mega only). Assets are provided AS IS, with no non-infringement warranty, and you indemnify Midjourney. source
Revenue share / caps●
Not stated by vendor
Company revenue over US$1,000,000/year requires Pro or Mega; no revenue share stated
API●
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Not stated by vendor. No public API stated; the Terms say you may not use automated tools to access the Services or generate Assets source
MCP server
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.