ChatGPT vs GitHub Copilot

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Coding assistants, GitHub Copilot ranks #2 and ChatGPT ranks #5. Named a Leader in Gartner's 2026 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise AI Coding Agents (May 2026). Joint top with Cursor; we list the two alphabetically. Gartner MQ coverage (Virtualization Review)

Full ranking: Coding assistants · How we rank

#5 in Coding assistants

ChatGPT

Concept art & 2D assets · Free tier + paid
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Free plan
Free planFree plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Ship free-plan output?
Yes
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)

Visit ChatGPT ↗Full listing

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
ChatGPTCommercial use allowed
GitHub CopilotCommercial use allowed
Best for
General-purpose concept images and coding help
Gameplay code in any engine, free starter plan
What it does
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
AI coding assistant with code completions, chat and agent mode; usable for gameplay code in any engine's scripting language.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For coding in any engine with a free starting tier; GitHub says it doesn't own suggestions, and IP indemnity only comes with organization plans.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free plan Free plan
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Free plan. Paid individual plans listed at US$10, US$39 and US$100 per month; Business and Enterprise plans for organizations. source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
n/a (code in your repo)
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use allowed
Copilot Product Specific Terms: "GitHub does not own Suggestions. You retain ownership of Your Code." IP indemnity applies to organization plans, not individual plans. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Not applicable. IDE/CLI product
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers (IDEs, CLI, GitHub.com) source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.