In Concept art & 2D assets, Layer ranks #4 and ChatGPT ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API and official MCP server. Mostly runs other companies' image models, so their leaderboard results don't count for it.
Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (ChatGPT terms; Layer terms).
Free plan: ChatGPT: free plan (Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access) pricing. Layer: free plan (Start for free (scope unverified)) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: both allow it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: ChatGPT: public API, MCP not stated by vendor. Layer: public API, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: both: none stated (standard file export).
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
Generative content platform aimed at game studios: style-trained models, concept art, marketing creatives and asset variations with team workflows.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For studios that want style-trained generation with no per-seat fees; the pricing page lists a commercial licence for all users.
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free plan Start for free (scope unverified)
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Start for free. Subscriptions begin at US$10/month for 300 Creative Units, increasing by US$60 per 1,000 CUs; US$0 per seat. source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use allowed Pricing page lists "Commercial license for all users". Free-tier scope: unverified. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.