In Concept art & 2D assets, Leonardo.Ai ranks #5 and ChatGPT ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API and official MCP server. Leonardo's own models are on Artificial Analysis's text-to-image leaderboard, but near the bottom (best: Lucid Origin Ultra, #86 of 102), so it doesn't move it up.
Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (ChatGPT terms; Leonardo.Ai terms).
Free plan: ChatGPT: free plan (Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access) pricing. Leonardo.Ai: free plan (150 fast tokens/day; creations are public) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: both allow it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: ChatGPT: public API, MCP not stated by vendor. Leonardo.Ai: public API, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: both: none stated (standard file export).
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
General image and video generation platform with trainable custom models; usable for concept art, item icons and texture ideas.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For general concept art and icon ideas; free-tier output can be used commercially but is public and Leonardo holds rights to it, while paid plans give you ownership.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free plan 150 fast tokens/day; creations are public
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Free: 150 fast tokens/day (public creations). Essential US$12/month, Premium US$30/month, Ultimate US$60/month (ex. tax). Team and API plans available. source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use allowed Paid subscribers retain full ownership and IP rights. Free tier: Leonardo holds rights to the images but grants you a non-exclusive, royalty-free licence for commercial use; free creations are public. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Available. API plans are separate from web subscriptions source
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor
Official MCP server. Hosted MCP server (needs API plan and key) source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.