In Concept art & 2D assets, Ludo.ai ranks #2 and ChatGPT ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; Unity integration; API and official MCP server.
Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (ChatGPT terms; Ludo.ai terms).
Free plan: ChatGPT: free plan (Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access) pricing. Ludo.ai: free plan (Free plan; sprite sheets watermarked) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: both allow it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: ChatGPT: public API, MCP not stated by vendor. Ludo.ai: public API, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: ChatGPT: none stated (standard file export). Ludo.ai: Unity.
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
Game ideation and asset tool: concept generation, sprites and sprite sheets, textures, plus a Unity editor plugin and API.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For Unity devs who want ideation and 2D assets in one place; its FAQ says you own what you generate, but free-plan sprite sheets are watermarked.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free plan Free plan; sprite sheets watermarked
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Free plan (sprite sheets watermarked). Indie US$15/month billed annually (US$180/year), Pro US$35/month billed annually (US$420/year), Studio US$300/month billed annually (US$3,600/year); extra credit packs from US$15 for 250 credits. source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use allowed FAQ: the person who initiates a generation is recognized as the full owner of that content and can export and use it as they see fit. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.