ChatGPT vs Ludus AI

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Coding assistants, ChatGPT ranks #5 and Ludus AI ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; no engine integration stated; API.

Full ranking: Coding assistants · How we rank

#5 in Coding assistants

ChatGPT

Concept art & 2D assets · Free tier + paid
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Free plan
Free planFree plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Ship free-plan output?
Yes
Engines
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)

Visit ChatGPT ↗Full listing

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
ChatGPTCommercial use allowed
Ludus AICommercial use: not stated by vendor
Best for
General-purpose concept images and coding help
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and levels
What it does
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
AI toolkit that runs inside the Unreal Engine editor: an agent that understands your project's Blueprints, C++, assets and levels and can answer questions and make edits.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For Unreal devs who want a project-aware assistant in the editor; it has no free credits beyond a 14-day trial, and its output licence is unverified.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Coding assistants, Level & terrain generation
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unreal
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free trial or credits only 14-day Pro trial; free account has no credits
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
14-day Pro trial. Pro $25/month, Studio $80/month, Ultimate $180/month (plus VAT; yearly billing discounted). Free account has no credits. source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
Edits made inside the Unreal project
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed
Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Ownership/commercial terms for generated output: unverified. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Not stated by vendor. No public API found
MCP server
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor. Ludus says it can connect to IDEs via MCP; setup details not public source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.