ChatGPT vs Retro Diffusion

Facts from each vendor's published pages, checked . Compare different tools →

Our ranking

In Concept art & 2D assets, Retro Diffusion ranks #1 and ChatGPT ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; Godot, Unity, Unreal integrations; API and official MCP server.

Full ranking: Concept art & 2D assets · How we rank

Bottom line for game devs

Full comparison

Tool
ChatGPTCommercial use allowed
Retro DiffusionCommercial use allowed
Best for
General-purpose concept images and coding help
Pay-per-image pixel-art sprites and tiles
What it does
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
Pixel-art-specific image models for sprites, tiles, tilesets and animations, plus low-poly 3D model generation with export for Godot, Unity and Unreal. Also sells an Aseprite extension.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For pixel-art devs who want pay-per-image pricing with no subscription; the site says all output is yours for commercial use.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Concept art & 2D assets, 3D model generation
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Godot, Unity, Unreal
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free trial or credits only Free starting balance for new accounts
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Pay per generation from a prepaid balance: images from US$0.03 (RD Fast), US$0.06, US$0.18 (RD Pro); animations from US$0.07 per clip. New accounts get a free starting balance. source
Export formats
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use allowed
Official FAQ: "Everything you generate is yours, for personal and commercial projects alike." source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Available. REST API (pay per generation) source
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor
Official MCP server. Hosted MCP server source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.