In Concept art & 2D assets, Scenario ranks #3 and ChatGPT ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use on paid plans; Unity, Unreal integrations; API and official MCP server. Mostly runs other companies' image models, so their leaderboard results don't count for it.
Commercial use: ChatGPT: commercial use allowed terms. Scenario: commercial on paid plans only terms.
Free plan: ChatGPT: free plan (Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access) pricing. Scenario: free plan (50 daily credits; personal/evaluation use only) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only ChatGPT allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: ChatGPT: public API, MCP not stated by vendor. Scenario: public API, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: ChatGPT: none stated (standard file export). Scenario: Unity, Unreal, Blender.
Studios training custom style models on their own art
What it does
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
Production-focused generative platform for game art: train custom style models on your own assets, generate images, textures, 3D meshes, video and audio. API-first with Unity/Unreal integration.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For studios that want custom style models trained on their own art; commercial use needs a paid plan (free output is personal/evaluation only).
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity, Unreal, Blender
Free plan
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Free plan 50 daily credits; personal/evaluation use only
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Free tier with 50 daily credits. Starter US$15/month, Pro US$45/month, Max US$75/month (monthly billing; annual saves 33%). Enterprise custom. source
Commercial use allowed Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial on paid plans only All paid plans include a full commercial license; free plan outputs are for personal and evaluation use only (per pricing FAQ). source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.