ChatGPT vs Skybox AI (Blockade Labs)

Concept art & 2D assets · checked · Compare different tools

ChatGPT ranks higher in Concept art & 2D assets (#1 vs #13). How we score

How they differ

How each one works, from its own docs.

ChatGPTConversational image editor

You steer by conversation and it keeps untouched parts intact, so it is strong at precise edits to existing images. Midjourney is parameter-and-style driven and better for open-ended mood exploration.

Best for: Precise asset creation and editing existing art (swap an item, fix text, change a pose), not for batch output in a trained studio style.

Skybox AI360° skybox generator

Makes whole 360° environment panoramas and HDRI lighting, not tileable material maps like Scenario, Leonardo, Layer, Ludo or Unity AI. Depth and GLB export add a rough 3D shell.

Best for: Sky domes, distant backdrops, image-based lighting and quick environment mood concepts; not surface textures.

Workflow

ChatGPT

Skybox AI

Where you use it

ChatGPT on web, desktop and mobile; the same model family via the OpenAI API (gpt-image-2.5 Flare and Sunburst)

Web app; REST API and SDK; Unity plugin; Blender add-on; MCP server; Godot, Roblox, SketchUp and Figma integrations

You give it

Plain-language chat instructions, uploaded images as references or to edit, a selected area, and Sketch drawings made inside ChatGPT

Text prompt plus a style; optional negative prompt, a previous skybox or project to remix, or an uploaded equirectangular image

You get

Images returned in the chat; via API, PNG, JPEG or WebP, transparent backgrounds, custom sizes up to 4K

Equirectangular panorama (Model 4 native 4K, Model 3 8K); JPG, PNG, HDR/EXR, MP4; depth map, cube maps and GLB mesh on Model 3 only

How you steer it

Detailed instructions it follows closely, reference images, a selection tool for region edits, templates for formats like posters; no parameter syntax

Style presets, negative prompt, prompt enhancer, seed, Model 3 or 4 (Standard/Enhanced), horizon shift, soft lines, init-image strength

How you refine results

Follow-up messages and comment-based edits that change only what you ask, each edit building on the last without losing quality

Remix an existing skybox or project, keeping its structure while changing style, time of day or weather; regenerate with new seeds

Pick ChatGPT if you want

  • Tops both Artificial Analysis image boards (generation and editing)
  • Prompt adherence and text rendering
  • Conversational, iterative editing

Watch out: sprite sheets and true low-colour pixel art still weak (HN users); 'sameness' / recognisable house style; less expressive than Midjourney

Pick Skybox AI (Blockade Labs) if you want

  • 360° skyboxes and HDRI environments

How they score

Each signal is out of 100. Higher wins.

ChatGPTSkybox AI (Blockade Labs)
Benchmarks
99
No data
Expert reviews
60
No data
User reports
83
No data
Game-dev fit
72
16
See all 4 sources

ChatGPT

Skybox AI (Blockade Labs)

No independent sources yet.

Vendor claims (not scored): ChatGPT: Images 2.5 (2026-09-08) claims up to 50% lower latency than Images 2.0, with better lighting, textures and subject preservation; it adds Sketch, Templates and comment-based edits (as reported by press). source

At a glance

ChatGPTSkybox AI (Blockade Labs)
Paid plans fromUS$20/moUS$20/mo
Free planFree planNot stated
Engine pluginsFile export onlyUnity
API / MCPAPIAPI
Commercial useAllowedNot stated
Full comparison: every fact, with sources
Tool
ChatGPTCommercial use allowed
Skybox AI (Blockade Labs)Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Best for
General-purpose concept images and coding help
360° skyboxes and HDRI environments
What it does
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
Generates 360° panoramic skyboxes and environments (up to 16K and HDRI on higher tiers), with an API for in-app generation.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For 360° skyboxes and environment backdrops; the terms say you own your assets, but commercial terms below the Business tier are unverified.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Textures & materials, Concept art & 2D assets
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unity
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Not stated by vendor
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Essential US$20/month, Standard US$48/month per seat, Business US$112/month (as listed on the plans page; a second set of prices US$24/US$140 is also shown, likely monthly vs annual billing: unverified). Free tier details: unverified. source
Export formats●
PNG, JPEG, WebP source
JPG, PNG, HDR, EXR, MP4, GLB (Model 3) source
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed
Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor
Terms: "You own all Assets You create with the Services, to the extent possible under current law." Plans page lists "Commercial licensing" on the Business tier; commercial terms for lower tiers: unverified. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Available. REST API (x-api-key) source
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor
In preview. MCP server listed as in preview on the roadmap source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.