In Coding assistants, Cursor ranks #1 and Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) ranks #5. Named a Leader in Gartner's 2026 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise AI Coding Agents (May 2026). Joint top with GitHub Copilot, the other Leader here; we list the two alphabetically. Gartner MQ coverage (Virtualization Review)
Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (Cursor terms; Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) terms).
Free plan: Cursor: free plan (Free $0 plan) pricing. Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): paid only (No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only Cursor allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: Cursor: API not applicable, connects to MCP servers. Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): API not stated by vendor, MCP not stated by vendor.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Cursor: none stated (standard file export). Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): Unreal.
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work
What it does
AI-first code editor with agents, chat and codebase-aware edits; usable for gameplay code in any language or engine.
BlueprintsLab's in-editor AI copilot for Unreal Engine 5 (formerly Ultimate Blueprint Generator): builds Blueprints, C++, materials, Niagara, PCG, UI and animation with 1,655 native tools, using hosted AI, your own keys, local models or coding agents.
Verdict
For devs who want an AI-first editor with a free tier; its terms assign suggestion rights to you, and third-party model usage is billed separately.
For Unreal devs who want an agent that edits Blueprints and C++ inside the editor; buy once or subscribe with AI included, with no free plan.
Tasks
Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unreal
Free plan●
Free plan Free $0 plan
Paid only No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase
Pricing
Free US$0/month; Plus US$8/month; Premium US$30/month; Super US$100/month; Ultra US$200/month; Teams US$30+/user/month. Third-party model usage billed separately. source
One-time licence US$284.99 per seat (bring your own AI; up to 20% off from 10 seats). Indie US$25/month or US$250/year (50M tokens/month). Studio US$80/month or US$800/year (150M tokens/month). Teams quoted. source
Export formats●
n/a (code in your repo)
Edits made inside the Unreal project
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Terms of Service 5.3: you retain rights in Inputs and Anysphere assigns to you all of its right, title and interest (if any) in Suggestions. source
Commercial use allowed Terms (last updated 29 September 2026): a purchase gives a non-exclusive licence to use the plugin for personal or commercial use; plan access lasts only while the plan is active. The plugin is editor-only and isn't included in the games you ship. Ownership of AI-generated output: Not stated by vendor. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not applicable. Editor product
Not stated by vendor
MCP server●
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers via mcp.json source
Not stated by vendor. Runs Claude Code, Codex, Gemini CLI and GitHub Copilot inside the editor through MCP source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.