In Coding assistants, GitHub Copilot ranks #2 and Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) ranks #5. Named a Leader in Gartner's 2026 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise AI Coding Agents (May 2026). Joint top with Cursor; we list the two alphabetically. Gartner MQ coverage (Virtualization Review)
Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (GitHub Copilot terms; Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) terms).
Free plan: GitHub Copilot: free plan (Free plan) pricing. Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): paid only (No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only GitHub Copilot allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: GitHub Copilot: API not applicable, connects to MCP servers. Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): API not stated by vendor, MCP not stated by vendor.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: GitHub Copilot: none stated (standard file export). Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): Unreal.
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work
What it does
AI coding assistant with code completions, chat and agent mode; usable for gameplay code in any engine's scripting language.
BlueprintsLab's in-editor AI copilot for Unreal Engine 5 (formerly Ultimate Blueprint Generator): builds Blueprints, C++, materials, Niagara, PCG, UI and animation with 1,655 native tools, using hosted AI, your own keys, local models or coding agents.
Verdict
For coding in any engine with a free starting tier; GitHub says it doesn't own suggestions, and IP indemnity only comes with organization plans.
For Unreal devs who want an agent that edits Blueprints and C++ inside the editor; buy once or subscribe with AI included, with no free plan.
Tasks
Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unreal
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan
Paid only No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase
Pricing
Free plan. Paid individual plans listed at US$10, US$39 and US$100 per month; Business and Enterprise plans for organizations. source
One-time licence US$284.99 per seat (bring your own AI; up to 20% off from 10 seats). Indie US$25/month or US$250/year (50M tokens/month). Studio US$80/month or US$800/year (150M tokens/month). Teams quoted. source
Export formats●
n/a (code in your repo)
Edits made inside the Unreal project
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Copilot Product Specific Terms: "GitHub does not own Suggestions. You retain ownership of Your Code." IP indemnity applies to organization plans (Business, Enterprise), not individual plans. Plans page FAQ: for Individual subscribers (Free, Pro, Pro+, Max), GitHub may use prompts, suggestions and code snippets to train AI models; opt out at github.com/settings/copilot/features. source
Commercial use allowed Terms (last updated 29 September 2026): a purchase gives a non-exclusive licence to use the plugin for personal or commercial use; plan access lasts only while the plan is active. The plugin is editor-only and isn't included in the games you ship. Ownership of AI-generated output: Not stated by vendor. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not applicable. IDE/CLI product
Not stated by vendor
MCP server●
Connects to MCP servers. Connects to MCP servers (IDEs, CLI, GitHub.com) source
Not stated by vendor. Runs Claude Code, Codex, Gemini CLI and GitHub Copilot inside the editor through MCP source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.