In Coding assistants, Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) ranks #5 and Unity AI ranks #7. No independent quality tests found. Ranked on game-dev fit: commercial use allowed; Unreal integration.
Free trial or credits onlyUnity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Commercial use: Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): commercial use allowed terms. Unity AI: not stated by vendor terms.
Free plan: Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): paid only (No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase) pricing. Unity AI: free trial or credits only (Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.) pricing.
API and MCP: Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): API not stated by vendor, MCP not stated by vendor. Unity AI: API not applicable, official MCP server.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): Unreal. Unity AI: Unity.
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work
Unity users who want AI inside the editor
What it does
BlueprintsLab's in-editor AI copilot for Unreal Engine 5 (formerly Ultimate Blueprint Generator): builds Blueprints, C++, materials, Niagara, PCG, UI and animation with 1,655 native tools, using hosted AI, your own keys, local models or coding agents.
Unity's AI tools (Unity is retiring the "Unity AI" name): an in-editor assistant for project questions, code and Editor actions, plus generators for images, textures, sounds, 3D models and animations, metered in Unity Credits. The Unity CLI, MCP server and Unity's official agent plugin are free.
Verdict
For Unreal devs who want an agent that edits Blueprints and C++ inside the editor; buy once or subscribe with AI included, with no free plan.
For Unity 6 users who want AI inside the editor: credits are included on Pro, Enterprise and Industry, while Personal gets a 14-day trial and then a paid subscription. Unity says you own the outputs, but third-party generator terms also apply.
Tasks●
Coding assistants
Coding assistants, Concept art & 2D assets, Textures & materials, 3D model generation, Music & SFX, Rigging, animation & mocap
Engines●
Unreal
Unity
Free plan●
Paid only No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase
Free trial or credits only Unity Personal: 14-day free trial, then a paid subscription ($10/month per Unity's AI FAQ; currency not stated by vendor). Pro, Enterprise and Industry include monthly credits.
Pricing
One-time licence US$284.99 per seat (bring your own AI; up to 20% off from 10 seats). Indie US$25/month or US$250/year (50M tokens/month). Studio US$80/month or US$800/year (150M tokens/month). Teams quoted. source
Unity Personal: "Try Unity's AI tools free for 14 days, paid subscription available after trial", listed with a 1,000 monthly credit allowance; Unity's AI FAQ says the Personal trial "converts to a $10/month subscription" (currency not stated by vendor). Pro (from $2,310/yr) includes 2,000 monthly credits; Enterprise 3,000. "Special terms apply to Unity Credits." Credits reset each billing cycle and don't roll over; extra credit bundles are sold. The CLI, MCP server and official plugin are free to use. source
Export formats●
Edits made inside the Unreal project
Assets are created inside the Unity project
Commercial use●
Commercial use allowed Terms (last updated 29 September 2026): a purchase gives a non-exclusive licence to use the plugin for personal or commercial use; plan access lasts only while the plan is active. The plugin is editor-only and isn't included in the games you ship. Ownership of AI-generated output: Not stated by vendor. source
Commercial use: not stated by vendor Unity's AI Guiding Principles say you own your input and output data, regardless of the partner model used, and that you're responsible for making sure generated assets don't infringe third-party rights. Using the generators is also governed by third-party terms (Layer, Scenario, Uthana). Generated assets carry "UnityAI" metadata. Commercial-use terms for outputs aren't stated separately. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not stated by vendor
Not applicable. Editor feature
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor. Runs Claude Code, Codex, Gemini CLI and GitHub Copilot inside the editor through MCP source
Official MCP server. Unity MCP server provided through the Unity CLI (Unity 6+) source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.