In Coding assistants, Windsurf ranks #3 and Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) ranks #5. Its maker, Cognition, was placed a Challenger (not a Leader) in Gartner's 2026 Magic Quadrant for Enterprise AI Coding Agents. Gartner assesses the vendor, not only Windsurf. Gartner MQ coverage (Virtualization Review)
Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) terms; Windsurf terms).
Free plan: Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): paid only (No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase) pricing. Windsurf: free plan (Free $0 plan) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only Windsurf allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): API not stated by vendor, MCP not stated by vendor. Windsurf: API not applicable, connects to MCP servers.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): Unreal. Windsurf: none stated (standard file export).
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work
Agentic coding with unlimited free tab completions
What it does
BlueprintsLab's in-editor AI copilot for Unreal Engine 5 (formerly Ultimate Blueprint Generator): builds Blueprints, C++, materials, Niagara, PCG, UI and animation with 1,655 native tools, using hosted AI, your own keys, local models or coding agents.
AI code editor with agentic coding and unlimited tab completions on the free plan.
Verdict
For Unreal devs who want an agent that edits Blueprints and C++ inside the editor; buy once or subscribe with AI included, with no free plan.
For an AI code editor whose free plan includes unlimited tab completions; its terms assign output rights to you.
Tasks
Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines●
Unreal
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Free plan●
Paid only No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase
Free plan Free $0 plan
Pricing
One-time licence US$284.99 per seat (bring your own AI; up to 20% off from 10 seats). Indie US$25/month or US$250/year (50M tokens/month). Studio US$80/month or US$800/year (150M tokens/month). Teams quoted. source
Free $0/month; Pro $20/month; a $200/month tier; Teams $80/month plus $40/month per full seat. source
Export formats●
Edits made inside the Unreal project
n/a (code in your repo)
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Terms (last updated 29 September 2026): a purchase gives a non-exclusive licence to use the plugin for personal or commercial use; plan access lasts only while the plan is active. The plugin is editor-only and isn't included in the games you ship. Ownership of AI-generated output: Not stated by vendor. source
Commercial use allowed Individual terms 3.1: Cognition assigns to you all right, title and interest in Output. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not stated by vendor
Not applicable. Editor product
MCP server●
Not stated by vendor. Runs Claude Code, Codex, Gemini CLI and GitHub Copilot inside the editor through MCP source
Connects to MCP servers. Cascade connects to stdio, HTTP and SSE MCP servers source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.