Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) vs Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab)

Coding assistants · checked · Compare different tools

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) ranks higher in Coding assistants (#2 vs #7). How we score

How they differ

How each one works, from its own docs.

Devin DesktopAI editor with multi-agent command centre

Like Cursor, it replaces your editor. Unlike Cursor, it is built around running and reviewing many local and cloud agents, including third-party ones, from one command centre tied to Cognition's Devin.

Best for: Teams that want an editor plus a dashboard for running parallel agent tasks, with long jobs pushed to the cloud.

Ultimate Engine CoPilotIn-editor Unreal agent, bring your own model

Closest to Ludus AI, but you choose the model, including offline local LLMs or Claude Code and Codex. It also exposes 1,655 editor tools over MCP to outside agents.

Best for: Solo devs and small Unreal teams who want Blueprint, C++ and level work done in-editor while picking or self-hosting the AI model.

Workflow

Devin Desktop

Ultimate Engine CoPilot

Where you use it

Standalone VS Code-derived desktop IDE (Mac, Windows, Linux). It was Windsurf until it was renamed on 2 June 2026. Links to Devin Cloud and Devin CLI.

Unreal Engine plugin for UE 5.5–5.8. The latest build (V2.3.5) is Windows-only. Mac and Linux builds stay on V2.3.0. MCP server for Claude Code, Cursor or Claude Desktop.

You give it

Prompts to the local agent (Devin Local), code as you type, or tasks handed off to cloud Devin. Third-party agents connect through ACP.

Chat requests in the Architect panel with attachments and @-mentions, plus a one-time project scan and optional game design documents.

You get

Multi-file code edits and terminal runs on your machine, Tab autocomplete, and PRs from Devin cloud sessions and their subagents.

Blueprints, UMG widgets, compiled C++ classes, PBR materials, imported GLB meshes, Niagara, PCG, levels, lighting, audio and profiling fixes. It reports what it made in the output log.

How you steer it

Rules in .devin/rules (also reads .windsurfrules, AGENTS.md, imported .cursor/rules), memories, workflows, MCP, and model choice including a lead-plus-sidekick Fusion mode.

Model per chat: BpLabs plan, your own API key, a local LLM (Ollama, LM Studio) or a coding agent (Claude Code, Codex). Four interaction modes, plus confirmation switches.

How you refine results

Review diffs with Devin Review, chat follow-ups, move a session between local and cloud, and track many agents in Spaces or a Kanban view.

Review the diff bar before Blueprint changes apply, undo with Ctrl+Z, and chat follow-ups. Crew (multi-agent) gives each checkpoint up to three attempts.

Pick Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf) if you want

  • Strong autonomous agent runs and semantic indexing (StraySpark)
  • Lowest cost of the IDE options (StraySpark)

Watch out: slow first index and heavy RAM on UE projects (StraySpark); large refactors cascade into errors (StraySpark)

Pick Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) if you want

  • Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work

How they score

Each signal is out of 100. Higher wins.

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab)
Benchmarks
No data
No data
Expert reviews
45
No data
User reports
93
No data
Game-dev fit
64
60
See all 2 sources

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)

Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab)

No independent sources yet.

Vendor claims (not scored): Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf): Devin Desktop is the new name for Windsurf; plans and pricing unchanged; 'Fusion' pairs a lead model with a SWE-2 sidekick. source · Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): Calls itself the most comprehensive AI copilot for Unreal, with 1,655 native tools; works with hosted AI, your own keys or local LLMs. source

At a glance

Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab)
Paid plans fromFree tier + paidUS$25/mo
Free planFree planPaid only
Engine pluginsFile export onlyUnreal
API / MCPNoneNone
Commercial useAllowedAllowed
Full comparison: every fact, with sources
Tool
Devin Desktop (formerly Windsurf)Commercial use allowed
Best for
Agentic coding with unlimited free tab completions
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work
What it does
AI code editor with agentic coding and unlimited tab completions on the free plan.
BlueprintsLab's in-editor AI copilot for Unreal Engine 5 (formerly Ultimate Blueprint Generator): builds Blueprints, C++, materials, Niagara, PCG, UI and animation with 1,655 native tools, using hosted AI, your own keys, local models or coding agents.
Verdict
For an AI code editor whose free plan includes unlimited tab completions; its terms assign output rights to you.
For Unreal devs who want an agent that edits Blueprints and C++ inside the editor; buy once, or subscribe with AI included. There's no free plan.
Tasks
Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unreal
Free plan●
Free plan Free $0 plan
Paid only No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase
Pricing
Free $0/month; Pro $20/month; a $200/month tier; Teams $80/month plus $40/month per full seat. source
One-time licence US$284.99 per seat (bring your own AI; up to 20% off from 10 seats). Indie US$25/month or US$250/year (50M tokens/month). Studio US$80/month or US$800/year (150M tokens/month). Teams quoted. source
Export formats●
n/a (code in your repo)
Edits made inside the Unreal project
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed
Individual terms 3.1: Cognition assigns to you all right, title and interest in Output. source
Commercial use allowed
Terms (last updated 29 September 2026): a purchase gives a non-exclusive licence to use the plugin for personal or commercial use; plan access lasts only while the plan is active. The plugin is editor-only and isn't included in the games you ship. Ownership of AI-generated output: Not stated by vendor. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Not applicable. Editor product
Not stated by vendor
MCP server●
Connects to MCP servers. Cascade connects to stdio, HTTP and SSE MCP servers source
Not stated by vendor. Runs Claude Code, Codex, Gemini CLI and GitHub Copilot inside the editor through MCP source
Last checked

Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.