Commercial use: both commercial use allowed (ChatGPT terms; Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) terms).
Free plan: ChatGPT: free plan (Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access) pricing. Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): paid only (No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase) pricing.
Shipping free-plan output in a paid game: only ChatGPT allows it, per their published terms.
API and MCP: ChatGPT: public API, MCP not stated by vendor. Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): API not stated by vendor, MCP not stated by vendor.
Engine integrations stated by the vendor: ChatGPT: none stated (standard file export). Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab): Unreal.
Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work
What it does
OpenAI's general-purpose assistant: chat, image creation and Codex coding help on the web, desktop and mobile; usable for concept images, placeholder art and gameplay code.
BlueprintsLab's in-editor AI copilot for Unreal Engine 5 (formerly Ultimate Blueprint Generator): builds Blueprints, C++, materials, Niagara, PCG, UI and animation with 1,655 native tools, using hosted AI, your own keys, local models or coding agents.
Verdict
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
For Unreal devs who want an agent that edits Blueprints and C++ inside the editor; buy once or subscribe with AI included, with no free plan.
Tasks●
Concept art & 2D assets, Coding assistants
Coding assistants
Engines●
Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic)
Unreal
Free plan●
Free plan Free plan with limited image creation and limited Codex access
Paid only No free plan; the plugin ships with a small built-in AI allowance after purchase
Pricing
Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
One-time licence US$284.99 per seat (bring your own AI; up to 20% off from 10 seats). Indie US$25/month or US$250/year (50M tokens/month). Studio US$80/month or US$800/year (150M tokens/month). Teams quoted. source
Export formats●
Not stated by vendor
Edits made inside the Unreal project
Commercial use
Commercial use allowed Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source
Commercial use allowed Terms (last updated 29 September 2026): a purchase gives a non-exclusive licence to use the plugin for personal or commercial use; plan access lasts only while the plan is active. The plugin is editor-only and isn't included in the games you ship. Ownership of AI-generated output: Not stated by vendor. source
Revenue share / caps
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor
API●
Available. The OpenAI API is a separate product, billed independently of ChatGPT plans source
Not stated by vendor
MCP server
Not stated by vendor
Not stated by vendor. Runs Claude Code, Codex, Gemini CLI and GitHub Copilot inside the editor through MCP source
Rows marked ● differ between the two tools. Licence badges: green = commercial use allowed (including any free plan or trial), amber = paid plans only, restricted, or allowed but with no free plan, red = not allowed, grey = not stated by vendor or not applicable. Read the vendor's current terms before you ship.