Cursor alternatives for game dev
Cursor is an AI-first editor with a free tier. Some game devs want an assistant inside the engine editor instead, or a different pricing model. Listed A to Z, not ranked; for the ranking see best coding assistants tools. Checked .
| Tool | Best for | Free plan | Commercial use | Engines | API | MCP |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| An AI-first editor for game code | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Not applicable | Connects to MCP servers | |
| ChatGPT | General-purpose concept images and coding help | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Available | Not stated by vendor |
| Claude Code | An AI coding agent in your terminal or IDE | Paid only | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Available | Connects to MCP servers |
| Gameplay code in any engine, free starter plan | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Not applicable | Connects to MCP servers | |
| Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and levels | Free trial or credits only | Commercial use: not stated by vendor | Unreal | Not stated by vendor | Not stated by vendor | |
| Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) | Unreal teams wanting an in-editor agent for Blueprints, C++ and level work | Paid only | Commercial use allowed | Unreal | Not stated by vendor | Not stated by vendor |
| Windsurf | Agentic coding with unlimited free tab completions | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Not applicable | Connects to MCP servers |
Every cell comes from the tool's listing, which links the vendor's own pages. "Not stated by vendor" means we couldn't find it there.
Notes on each alternative
ChatGPT
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
Price: Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Licence: Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source · Checked
Claude Code
For devs who want an agent that edits and runs game code from the terminal or IDE; it needs a paid Claude plan or an API account, and Anthropic's terms assign output rights to you.
Price: Included in Claude Pro (US$20/month, or US$17/month billed annually at US$200 up front), Max (from US$100/month), Team (standard seat US$25/month, or US$20/month billed annually) and Enterprise; or billed by API token use through an Anthropic Console account. source
Licence: Consumer Terms (individual accounts, effective 8 October 2025): "we assign to you all of our right, title, and interest—if any—in Outputs." Commercial Terms (organisations and API customers, effective 17 June 2025): the customer owns its Outputs, Anthropic assigns its rights (if any), may not train models on customer content, and defends customers against covered third-party claims (section K). source · Checked
GitHub Copilot
For coding in any engine with a free starting tier; GitHub says it doesn't own suggestions, and IP indemnity only comes with organization plans.
Price: Free plan. Paid individual plans listed at US$10, US$39 and US$100 per month; Business and Enterprise plans for organizations. source
Licence: Copilot Product Specific Terms: "GitHub does not own Suggestions. You retain ownership of Your Code." IP indemnity applies to organization plans (Business, Enterprise), not individual plans. Plans page FAQ: for Individual subscribers (Free, Pro, Pro+, Max), GitHub may use prompts, suggestions and code snippets to train AI models; opt out at github.com/settings/copilot/features. source · Checked
Ludus AI
For Unreal devs who want a project-aware assistant in the editor; it has no free credits beyond a 14-day trial, and its output licence is unverified.
Price: 14-day Pro trial. Pro $25/month, Studio $80/month, Ultimate $180/month (plus VAT; yearly billing discounted). Free account has no credits. source
Licence: Ownership/commercial terms for generated output: unverified. source · Checked
Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab)
For Unreal devs who want an agent that edits Blueprints and C++ inside the editor; buy once or subscribe with AI included, with no free plan.
Price: One-time licence US$284.99 per seat (bring your own AI; up to 20% off from 10 seats). Indie US$25/month or US$250/year (50M tokens/month). Studio US$80/month or US$800/year (150M tokens/month). Teams quoted. source
Licence: Terms (last updated 29 September 2026): a purchase gives a non-exclusive licence to use the plugin for personal or commercial use; plan access lasts only while the plan is active. The plugin is editor-only and isn't included in the games you ship. Ownership of AI-generated output: Not stated by vendor. source · Checked
Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab) listingCursor vs Ultimate Engine CoPilot (BlueprintsLab)
Windsurf
For an AI code editor whose free plan includes unlimited tab completions; its terms assign output rights to you.
Price: Free $0/month; Pro $20/month; a $200/month tier; Teams $80/month plus $40/month per full seat. source
Licence: Individual terms 3.1: Cognition assigns to you all right, title and interest in Output. source · Checked
We summarise vendors' published pages on the dates shown. Read the current terms before you ship. Paid placements never change this list.