Midjourney alternatives for game art
Midjourney has no free plan, images are public by default unless you pay for Pro or Mega, and companies over US$1M a year need Pro or Mega. These tools handle game art with different terms. Listed A to Z, not ranked; for the ranking see best concept art & 2d assets tools. Checked .
| Tool | Best for | Free plan | Commercial use | Engines | API | MCP |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MidjourneyCompared with | Concept art, key art and 2D illustration | Paid only | Commercial on paid plans only | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Not stated by vendor | Not stated by vendor |
| ChatGPT | General-purpose concept images and coding help | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Available | Not stated by vendor |
| Style-consistent game art and marketing creatives | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Available | Official MCP server | |
| Leonardo.Ai | General concept art and icon ideas | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Available | Official MCP server |
| Game ideation plus 2D sprites in one tool | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Unity | Available | Official MCP server | |
| Pixel-art characters, rotations, animations and tilesets | Free plan | Commercial use allowed | Any (standard file export / engine-agnostic) | Available | Official MCP server | |
| Pay-per-image pixel-art sprites and tiles | Free trial or credits only | Commercial use allowed | Godot, Unity, Unreal | Available | Official MCP server | |
| Studios training custom style models on their own art | Free plan | Commercial on paid plans only | Unity, Unreal, Blender | Available | Official MCP server |
Every cell comes from the tool's listing, which links the vendor's own pages. "Not stated by vendor" means we couldn't find it there.
Notes on each alternative
ChatGPT
For concept images and coding help on one subscription; OpenAI's terms assign Output to you on every plan, including Free, but similar output can go to other users.
Price: Free $0. Plus US$20/month. Pro: three monthly plans at US$100, US$200 or US$500. Go, Business and Enterprise: USD prices not stated on the pages we could read. USD figures from OpenAI's help centre. source
Licence: Terms of Use (effective 1 January 2026; cover ChatGPT, DALL·E and OpenAI's other services for individuals): you own the Output, and OpenAI assigns to you all its right, title and interest, if any, in Output. Output may not be unique: other users may receive similar output, and the assignment doesn't extend to their output. source · Checked
Layer
For studios that want style-trained generation with no per-seat fees; the pricing page lists a commercial licence for all users.
Price: Start for free. Subscriptions begin at US$10/month for 300 Creative Units, increasing by US$60 per 1,000 CUs; US$0 per seat. source
Licence: Pricing page lists "Commercial license for all users". Free-tier scope: unverified. source · Checked
Leonardo.Ai
For general concept art and icon ideas; free-tier output can be used commercially but is public and Leonardo holds rights to it, while paid plans give you ownership.
Price: Free: 150 fast tokens/day (public creations). Essential US$12/month, Premium US$30/month, Ultimate US$60/month (ex. tax). Team and API plans available. source
Licence: Paid subscribers retain full ownership and IP rights. Free tier: Leonardo holds rights to the images but grants you a non-exclusive, royalty-free licence for commercial use; free creations are public. source · Checked
Ludo.ai
For Unity devs who want ideation and 2D assets in one place; its FAQ says you own what you generate, but free-plan sprite sheets are watermarked.
Price: Free plan (sprite sheets watermarked). Indie US$15/month billed annually (US$180/year), Pro US$35/month billed annually (US$420/year), Studio US$300/month billed annually (US$3,600/year); extra credit packs from US$15 for 250 credits. source
Licence: FAQ: the person who initiates a generation is recognized as the full owner of that content and can export and use it as they see fit. source · Checked
PixelLab
For 2D devs who need pixel-art sprites, rotations and animations; outputs are usable commercially on every plan, but its terms bar training other models on them.
Price: Free trial tier (no credit card). Paid plans listed at $12/month (2,000 generations), $24/month (5,000) and $50/month (10,000). API and MCP calls use your plan's generations; separate USD API credits are only needed without a subscription or once the plan's generations run out (PixelLab, by email, 17 Oct 2026; the API's balance endpoint reports both). source
Licence: Pricing page lists "Use generated images commercially" and says the user owns the rights to generations, except using them to train models. Terms also reference the Open RAIL-M license. source · Checked
Retro Diffusion
For pixel-art devs who want pay-per-image pricing with no subscription; the site says all output is yours for commercial use.
Price: Pay per generation from a prepaid balance: images from US$0.03 (RD Fast), US$0.06, US$0.18 (RD Pro); animations from US$0.07 per clip. New accounts get a free starting balance. source
Licence: Official FAQ: "Everything you generate is yours, for personal and commercial projects alike." source · Checked
Scenario
For studios that want custom style models trained on their own art; commercial use needs a paid plan (free output is personal/evaluation only).
Price: Free tier with 50 daily credits. Starter US$15/month, Pro US$45/month, Max US$75/month (monthly billing; annual saves 33%). Enterprise custom. source
Licence: All paid plans include a full commercial license; free plan outputs are for personal and evaluation use only (per pricing FAQ). source · Checked
We summarise vendors' published pages on the dates shown. Read the current terms before you ship. Paid placements never change this list.